Hayley Williams reflects on 10th anniversary of Paramore’s self-titled album

M Paramore 040523
ABC/Randy Holmes

Hayley Williams has shared a statement reflecting on the 10th anniversary of Paramore‘s 2013 self-titled album.

In a social media post, Williams writes, “10 years ago we put out a record that took a lot of guts and self-determination to make.”

“Mainly because after losing 2 members of the band there was so much discourse around whether or not the band could make anything worthwhile – let alone stay together,” she continues.

The album Paramore was recorded by Williams, guitarist Taylor York and bassist Jeremy Davis. It was the group’s first record without brothers Josh and Zac Farro, who left in 2010. Davis parted ways with Paramore in 2015 — and has since been removed from the Paramore album cover — while Zac Farro rejoined in 2017, solidifying the lineup of him, Williams and York ever since.

Despite all the, as Williams puts it, “reality show-style drama” around the self-titled album, it debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 — a first and, so far, only for Paramore — and spawned the singles “Still into You” and “Ain’t It Fun.”

“If all that led to our Self-Titled album hadn’t happened, we’d be the most boring band of all time,” Williams writes. “If we hadn’t been forced out of our trauma-bound comfort zone, we would’ve never known what we might be capable of.”

“Taylor and I wrote these songs having no idea if people would accept a reformed, more liberated version of Paramore,” she continues. “Our fans not only accepted but championed our rebirth. Thank you for allowing us room for creative risk and for keeping this story going.”

Paramore released their latest album, This Is Why, in February.

Copyright © 2023, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.